Other users can see your status, if you are online or when you have been online for the last time. Being online means that you have opened your Whatsapp, that the program is connected to the internet and that you are either browsing your recieved messages or are creating a message yourself. If a contact person shows “online” it means that that user is also connected with her or his whatsapp program. This does not mean your contact has read your messages.
Last seen refers to the moment the user has closed their Whatsapp program. You can also see this as “went offline at…”
If you cannot see any of the indications “last seen” or “online”, you might be blocked by that user. Read more about being blocked here.
Turn off last seen
To remove the last seen option from your own account:
- Go to settings for Whatsapp
- Choose Chatsettings -> Advanced
- Turn off “last seen”
Note: When you turn off this option nobody can see when you were last online but you will not be able to see this from other users as well. You can only change this setting every 24 hours.